Tool Review

Harrison Specialties Shear Cutting Finisher

I was looking online for a cutting/hollowing tool, and was nauseous after looking at some of the prices. After recently purchasing a lathe, pen making supplies, bottle stopper supplies, basic tools, Worksharp sharpening system, and blanks, I could not stomach spending a lot of money on this tool.

I knew I wanted this cutter, but had to spend a couple hours researching different options first. I came up with two:

1. There are several people on woodworkingtalk.com that actually make these cutters themselves and sell them in the classified section. While I did like this option, it was still a bit more expensive than I could handle at that time. The cutters were less than the name brands you find at the woodworking store, but did not come with a handle or cutter.

2. Since I still had some credit on my Amazon.com account, I spent most of my time searching their inventory. I came across the Shear Cutting Finisher/Hollower from Harrison Specialties. This beauty was 2 foot long, came with a golf club handle, cutter, and was only $50 dollars. After looking at the many positive reviews and video tutorials, I was sold (as of Jan 2013, there are 12 reviews in Amazon, with an average rating of 5 stars out of 5).

DSC_0093

DSC_0092

The tool arrived within a couple of days and was exactly what I expected. I started chipping away at a chuck of Poplar that has been sitting around my garage and was amazed at the cutting abilities. This tool carves the wood like a hot knife through butter and leaves a very smooth surface.

Since I am new to turning and horrible at sharpening my gouge, I usually end up with a pretty rough surface. This results in spending and hour or more sanding my work from 80 grit to 600 grit, even though the turning itself only took 10 minutes. This tool will minimize my sharpening time (it is supposed to stay sharp for months), shorten my sanding time, which will leave more time doing what I love most – Turning wood.

I’d say this is a great tool for any shop, at an extremely affordable price.

Chris

One thought on “Harrison Specialties Shear Cutting Finisher

  1. I’ve just bought a similar kind of thing and I’m very pleased with it. I could probably get the same sort of results with a bowl gouge and scraper but this tool seems to make life easier.

Leave a comment