tutorial / Uncategorized

Dining Room Table Build – Part 3: Table Top

Dining Room Table Build – Part 3: Table Top

Now that my frame is finished, on to the Table top.

In case you missed the first two posts, click HERE for the design of my table top, and click HERE for how I built my legs and frame. For part 3, I will go over how I constructed the table top step by step. I was very pleased with how the top turned out, and was pleasantly surprised with how easy it was to construct compared to the frame.

Step 1 – Selecting The wood & Sizes

I was a bit limited on my wood sizes, but I found (6) pieces of Walnut that were around 6-7 inches wide. I originally wanted to keep all my sizes under 6” so they would fit on my joiner, but I figured It would be best to have the majority of pieces 7” so I could limit waste and additional glue ups (time). I laid all my pieces out on the table and marked my designated sizes – all 7” wide except for the ends which will be 6”. This decision was based on available wood sizes only – and I had to live wit the fact that the wood would not be straight as they would only be run through my planer.

IMG_1804 IMG_1803

Step 2 – Plane 

My plan is to plane and glue 2 pieces at a time rather than trying to glue up the entire table in 1 shot. I have tried gluing 4-7 boards together at a time before, and it always turns out to be a nightmare. I used a thickness gauge so all future pieces were the same exact thickness.

Run the first two pieces of wood through your planer. Get (1) side perfect for the TOP- bottom does not have to be

IMG_1805 IMG_1807

Step 3 – Cut Your Wood to Size

Cut the lengths down with a cross cutting sled so are were 3-4” greater then the final table size (about 75” long); this way any chips or bad glue joints (which usually occur at the ends for me) can be chopped off. After the ends were cut of, I ran the pieces through the table saw to get them to the final widths, in case a 6” and 7” piece. If both edges are rough, you will need to run (1) edge through your joiner so it will rest properly against your table say fence.

IMG_1806 IMG_1808

Step 4 – Lay Out Biscuits

After cutting down the wood, place the two pieces side by side and measure where the biscuits are going to be placed; about every foot. After you place markings, use your biscuit joiner to make your slots.

IMG_1810 IMG_1811 IMG_1812

Step 5 – Glue Up

Flip your 2 pieces on the end so the biscuit  slots are facing up. Apply a generous amount of glue and hammer in your biscuits (I used size 10). After you hammer in your last biscuit, lay the pieces down on some sturdy clamps and glue up your first two pieces. Use as many clamps as you can, but be sure to use calls so you do not dent/press the ends of your wood.

IMG_1813 IMG_1809

Do the above steps again until you have (3) glued up pieces.

IMG_1814

Glue 2 of those boards together just like you did before, with biscuits every 1”.

IMG_1815

Then glue the last pieces together to complete your table. This takes  large clamps to complete – I did not have enough but luckily it turned out great.

IMG_1816

Almost complete!

IMG_1817

Step 6 – Cut The Ends Flush

Using a large straight piece of wood as a guide, cut the ends flush to the final size of the table (72”).

IMG_1818IMG_1819

Table is practically done!

Step 7 – Router 

Using your router and a radius bit, round all of your top edges(Router ends first – end grain – then sides)

IMG_1823

And here is the table ready for sanding

IMG_1828

We are almost there! Next step is to sand, finish and attach the top to the frame.

This should be up for everyone to see in a matter of days.

Thanks for looking!

Chris

2 thoughts on “Dining Room Table Build – Part 3: Table Top

  1. Pingback: Dining Room Table Build – Part 4: Finish | Together We Wood

  2. Pingback: Dining Room Table BENCH | Together We Wood

Leave a comment